Quick Answer: Why Is The Step Back Not A Travel?

Is eurostep a travel?

When applied to the Harden Euro step in question, the NBA rules on gathering appear to indicate that the referees were correct in not issuing a traveling call.

Though it’s admittedly a close call in real-time, Harden’s left foot is clearly down before he begins to pick up, or gather, his dribble..

Why isn’t James Harden called for traveling?

Harden’s step-back jumper is an exception to the traveling rule. This is due to a section in the NBA rulebook that deals with traveling. … James Harden’s step-back jumper includes a “gather step” that allows him to gather the ball, then take two steps. He does the “gather step” just in time to avoid traveling.

Can you lift up your pivot foot?

According to the rules, you can lift your pivot foot as long as you pass or shoot the ball before you put your pivot foot down again. You don’t need to jump off both feet. … If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor.

How is James Harden step back not a travel?

It’s not a travel when he is backing up to the 3-point line. It is a travel when he takes too many steps, and on one of his step backs on Sunday, after he made his customary move, Harden seemed to shuffle his feet again. … His left foot landed, his right foot followed. That’s the rule.

Can you jump while dribbling?

If the ball handler picks up their dribble and stands in a spot and then jumps, it is considered an ups an downs. … You must either shoot or pass the ball. Otherwise, it is a travel. So you cannot jump while you are dribbling.

How many gather steps can you take?

A player who gathers the ball while dribbling may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.

Is the step back shot a travel?

It’s all about the timing of when the ball hits the ground and when his foot hits the ground. As long as the ball and the foot are hitting the ground at the same time, it’s just a jump stop. He’s jump-stopping laterally into a jump shot. So even though Harden’s new move might look like a travel, it’s really not.

Okay, if you look at when the ball is gathered, that pivot foot is not the first step. That is the zero step. So, after that pivot foot, when they step back into a 1, 2, that in the NBA is a legal two-step.

Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?

They then explained why it was, in fact, a legal play and the officials made the correct call by not considering it traveling: This is NOT a travel, it is a legal move. Watch closely: Harden picks up the ball with his right foot still on the ground. This doesn’t count as a step.

Can I take 2 steps without dribbling?

A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing must release the ball to start his dribble before his second step.

Is a step through a travel?

if you jump stop off the dribble – you take take a step through (1 step) when the second foot hit the ground on the second step through and you have not released the ball it is travel. if you jump stop off your shooting step and attempt a step through of any description it is travel.

Who created the step back 3?

JordanWhile he might not have been the first to use the move, Jordan was the one who perfected it. The once gimmicky shot became an art form. Jordan used it often on the way to 6 championships.

What is the zero step in basketball?

The zero step refers to the step taken when gaining control of the ball. When dribbling, the zero step gathering happens as the ball is gathered in 2 hands or let it rest in 1 hand. Similarly when moving and catching a ball.

Does a gather step count as a step?

The rule was 2 steps before 2018, but The International Basketball Federation, also known as FIBA changed the rule. Since 2018, there is a step called the “gather step” before you take the 2 steps. A travel can also be called via carrying or an unestablished pivot foot.

Can you step back without dribbling?

No, you can’t take two steps before dribbling, you do have to dribble. The idea of “two steps” is one that I REALLY wish had never come into the lexicon. You don’t actually get two steps, all you’re doing, in reality, is lifting your pivot foot and not putting it down again.

Does Giannis travel?

Giannis: ““A lot of people say I travel, but I don’t travel.”

How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?

five secondsOn an inbounds play, the passer must pass the basketball within five seconds or it will be awarded to the defense. If an offensive player is closely guarded, he cannot hold the ball for more than five seconds without dribbling, passing or shooting it.

Can you take 2 steps after a pivot?

a. A player who receives the ball while standing still may pivot, using either foot as the pivot foot. b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.